Symposium Thomisticum

Vienna, 6 – 8 June 2024

Symposium Thomisticum VII will take place in Vienna, 6 – 8 June 2024.

The theme of the Symposium will be Aquinas in History. Any topic that situates St Thomas in relation either to one or more of his sources or subsequent influences will suit. 

Topics from all areas of Aquinas’s philosophy and theology will be welcome. 

Intending Speakers.

  • Janice Breidenbach
  • Michael Breidenbach
  • Brian Carl
  • Thérèse Scarpelli Cory
  • Daniel De Haan
  • Gregory Doolan
  • Simon Francis Gaine OP
  • Lloyd Gerson
  • Harm Goris
  • Joshua Hochschild
  • Rollen Edward Houser
  • Piotr Jaroszynski
  • Mark Johnson
  • Gaven Kerr
  • Gyula Klima
  • Katja Krause
  • Reginald Lynch OP
  • Siobhan Nash-Marshall
  • Rupert Mayer OP
  • John O’Callaghan
  • Paul O’Grady
  • Fran O’Rourke
  • Thomas Osborne
  • Eric Perl
  • Günther Pöltner
  • Thomas Prügl
  • Alice Ramos
  • Richard Schenk OP
  • Marianne Schlosser
  • Michael Sherwin OP
  • Mary Catherine Sommers
  • David Twetten
  • Giovanni Ventimiglia
  • Jörgen Vijgen
  • Thomas Weinandy OFM
  • Thomas Joseph White OP
  • Patrick Zoll SJ

Papers are invited for parallel supplementary sessions on the afternoon of 8 June. Please submit abstracts as soon as possible but no later than 29 February. It may be necessary to limit the number of presentations. Complete papers should be submitted by 1 May.

Papers will be circulated in advance; summaries will be presented at the symposium: papers will be discussed rather than read. 

Registration of €200 euro will include refreshments, buffet dinner on the first evening, and conference dinner on Saturday.

All inquiries to Fran O’Rourke, Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, University College Dublin (

Abstracts and papers should be emailed to